Committees

Below is a list of current Committees along with their function of the Texas Chapter.


Alumni Committee** (membership limited to past presidents of Texas APCO)
Chair: Immediate Past President, Yvonne Krumm ykrumm@tc911.org
    Board Liaison: Shawn Barnes sbarnes@capcog.org

  • Serve as resource to the Board
  • Support the Chapter
  • Identify new leadership within the Chapter

Awards Committee
Chair: Jackie Cottongame jcottongame@cityofsachse.com
    Board Liaison: Mindy Adams mindy.adams@denco.org

  • Solicits nominations from members as well as non members for all categories awarded during the annual spring conference
  • Selects members of the Chapter to serve on sub-committees with the intention to score nominations in their area of expertise e.g. Telecommunicator of the Year, Supervisor of the Year, Team of the Year and Technician of the Year.
  • Reviews scores of annual nominations and recommendations of subcommittee members Submits recommendations of award designees to the Board Liaison

Educational/Training Committee
Chair: Kim Turner kimturner@tarrantcounty.com
    Board Liaison: Monica Corbin-Simon Monica.corbin-simon@houstontx.gov

  • Identify educational and training opportunities and communicate such to members via effective marketing tools (flyers, emails blasts, newsletter article, etc)
  • Provide a list of APCO courses within the State to the Newsletter editor quarterly
  • Serves as the Educational Session Chair for the Fall Conference as directed by the Board Liaison

Historical Committee
Chair: Tina Chaffin tchaffin@tc911.org

  • Locate and preserve all historical records and other related materials for the Chapter
  • Maintains accurate and comprehensive records for historical content
  • Communicates the heritage of the Chapter to all interested parties
  • Serves as the resource for all members, Board officers and RPL students as needed

Membership Committee
Chair: Gloria Little Gloria.little@co.jones.tx.us
    Board Liaison: Nancie Lutze nlutze@mdanderson.org

  • Recruiting new members as well as renewal membership
  • Encourage active participation of members within the Chapter
  • Develop effective marketing tools (flyers, email blasts, newsletter articles, etc) to encourage membership
  • Serve as greeter during annual business meetings, as directed by the Board Liaison

Technical Committee
Chair: Ken Yoder kyoder@austin.rr.com
    Board Liaison: Bill Keller
bill.keller@txdps.state.tx.us

  • Provide pertinent information to Chapter members as well as the Board concerning technical issues that apply to public safety communications
  • Encourage professional development as well as provide innovations in the field of public safety communications

Credential Committees** (Limited Membership)

Chair: Ken Yoder kyoder@austin.rr.com
Board Liason: Shawn Barnes sbarnes@capcog.org

  • Identifies members of Texas APCO eligible for Chapter or National membership designations
  • Makes recommendations to the Board for nominations

 

**Denotes an Ad-Hoc Committee or Taskforce created by the President.